We are searching data for your request:
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.
Ukraine is rich in various museums. One of them is located on the territory of the Kiev Pechersk Lavra and is called Museum of Theater, Music and Cinema. Modern expositions began to be added only in 1980. They reflect the historical periods of musical and theatrical art, which reflect the ancient rites of the games of the Ukrainian people. In total, the museum has about four thousand different items. Both permanent exhibitions and temporary exhibitions devoted to cinema, theatrical and musical art are presented here.
The museum was initially part of the Berezil association, which at that time was headed by the ingenious director Les Kurbas. Under his leadership, various collections were formed, based on the personal collection of V. Vasilko. They contained more than 800 units of unique photographs and negatives. A significant contribution to the replenishment of the museum’s fund was made by Ukrainian actors: M. Zankovetsky, I. Maryanenko, L. Lunitsky, A. Buchma, L. Gakkebush, as well as the Staritsky family. The first exhibition opened on New Year's Eve 1923. But they finally issued a museum only when the authorities of the Kiev provincial executive committee allocated the building of the former Solovtsev Theater. Here, three rooms were occupied under the exposition, and the first exposition was opened already in 1925.
But the story does not end there. In 1926, the Berezil association was recognized as the best art theater in Ukraine and moved to the capital Kharkov. The entire museum collection was transferred to the historical and philological department of the All-Ukrainian Academy of Sciences, which became the main exhibition of the theater museum. It totaled two thousand exhibits and three thousand volumes of theatrical literature. The exposition is divided into four theatrical parts: school, amateur, national, revolutionary. The audience saw them in 1927 after the opening of the Ukrainian Theater Museum. Museum staff practiced visiting thematic exhibitions, sometimes even with trips abroad. Idylls came to an end during the repressions of 1930, when the ideological “sweeps” were carried out at the Berezil Theater. Most of the exhibits were seized and sent to storage, where it was safely preserved.
In the 60s of the last century, the museum began to revive again. The management has made every effort to restore ancient folk instruments, significantly expanding the musical collection, numbering 600 instruments. Among them there are exclusives - a goat bass, a symphony or a wheeled lyre. The age of some rarities is more than 300 years.
The collection has a unique violin by Luka Maryanenko, who was popularly called the “Ukrainian Stradivarius”. He made a miraculous violin back in 1910. The material for the manufacture was wood, aged in normal drying for a quarter of a century. The master covered the violin with the help of real amber varnish, which gave it a golden color with a red tint. If you look inside the instrument, you can see there a portrait of the master with images of a dozen medals that were obtained at various competitions.
Today the museum operates in full, but the museum management has to periodically hold belt exhibitions to familiarize visitors with all the exhibits, including contemporary artists.